Otto Pregl Foundation


Otto Pregl Foundation for Geotechnical Fundamental Research

Feistmantelstrasse 4
1180 Vienna, Austria

Tel.: +43-1-47654-87300 - Fax: +43-1-47654-87309

Email: geotech@boku.ac.at


In 2001, o. Prof. Dr. Otto Pregl, head of the Institute of Geotechnical Engineering at the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, established "the Foundation for Geotechnical Fundamental Research'' as the first non-profit private foundation of its kind in Austria. In the year of 2008 the name of the foundation was changed to " Otto Pregl Foundation for Geotechnical Fundamental Research''.

Since 2004, the foundation conducts geotechnical fundamental research. According to the foundation deed, the following research topics are being worked on:

  • Soil constitutive models 
  • Calculation methods
  • Numerical simulations
  • Experimental techniques (geotechnical centrifuge)

The aim of the foundation is to conduct high-level geotechnical fundamental research. The developed methods and the obtained results can be applied to many problems in practice, e.g. embankments, foundations and tunnels. The research results are presented at international scientific conferences and published in journals.

The executive body of the foundation is the foundation board. The following persons have been members of the board: o. Univ. Prof. DDr. Bergmeister, Dr. Bruner, o. Univ. Prof. Dr. Dürrstein, Ass. Prof. Dr. Mansberger, o. Univ. Prof. Dr. Pregl (†), o. Univ. Prof. Dr. Semprich, Dr. Shaigani, o. Prof. Strelec (†), Em. O. Univ. Prof. Dr. Welan, Univ. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wu and Prof. Yu.

Otto Pregl Stiftung


Otto Pregl Stiftung für Geotechnische Grundlagenforschung

Feistmantelstraße 4
A-1180 Wien

Tel.: +43-1-47654-87300 - Fax: +43-1-47654-87309

E-Mail: geotech@boku.ac.at


Im Jahre 2001 gründete o. Univ. Prof. Dr. Otto Pregl, Vorstand des Instituts für Geotechnik an der Universität für Bodenkultur, “die Stiftung für Geotechnische Grundlagenforschung’’ als erste gemeinnützige Privatstiftung seiner Art in Österreich. Eine Änderung des Stiftungsnamens in “Otto Pregl Stiftung für Geotechnische Grundlagenforschung’’ erfolgte im Jahr 2008.

Seit 2004 werden geotechnische Grundlagenforschungen von der Stiftung durchgeführt. Gemäß Stiftungsurkunde werden folgende Forschungsthemen bearbeitet:

  • Stoffgesetz für Böden
  • Berechnungsverfahren
  • Numerische Simulationen
  • Versuchstechniken (geotechnische Zentrifuge)

Ziel der Stiftung ist, geotechnische Grundlagenforschungen auf hohem Niveau zu betreiben. Die dabei entwickelten Methoden und erzielten Ergebnisse lassen sich auf zahlreiche Probleme in der Praxis anwenden, z.B. Böschungen, Gründungen und Tunnel. Die Forschungsergebnisse wurden bei internationalen Fachveranstaltungen präsentiert und in Zeitschriften publiziert.

Als Leitungsorgan gilt der Stiftungsvorstand. Folgende Personen haben dem Vorstand gedient: o. Univ. Prof. DDr. Bergmeister, Dr. Bruner, o. Univ. Prof. Dr. Dürrstein, Ass. Prof. Dr. Mansberger, o. Univ. Prof. Dr. Pregl (†), o. Univ. Prof. Dr. Semprich, Dr. Shaigani, o. Prof. Strelec (†), Em. o. Univ. Prof. Dr. Welan, Univ. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wu und Prof. Yu.