Mission Statement


Institute of Structural Engineering

Head of the Institute:
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Alfred Strauss

Mission Statement

The future of the structural engineering lies in innovative materials, novel construction processes and performance oriented design methods, always in view of the complex demands arising from life-cycle and sustainability issues. The long-term monitoring of a structural element from its construction (birth) up to its demolition (end of life) with state-of-the-art sensor systems plays a leading role. Experience gained in this way is applied directly to the optimization of inspection and conservation measures, and is also reflected indirectly in the adaptation of design concepts. 

The world is not deterministic. Each geometrical value, each load and every assumption is subject to uncertainties, which need to be captured and evaluated in order to assess the existing safety level of an engineering structure and to ensure its safe operation throughout the planned service life. Integrated monitoring systems make it possible to determine the time-dependent behavior of bridges and tunnels, of power plants and protection structures with highly increased efficiently, thereby facilitating the precise alignment of the maintenance cycles with the operation modalities. The result is a resource-friendly, cost-effective conservation practice with minor disruptions to operation and functional capability. 

The Institute for Structural Engineering aims to equip its future engineers with thorough and comprehensive training in both the technical disciplines and natural science, thereby providing a solid foundation which will enable them to confidently meet future challenges in engineering practice and research. In addition to basic education in mechanics, materials science and the construction industry, the institute offers training in three further subject areas:

  • Fastening technology
  • Structural mechanics
  • Resource-oriented construction

The central objective that combines these three areas is the coordinated development of new sustainability and life cycle oriented concepts and of probabilistic based assessment concepts in view of the service life of fastening elements as well as engineering structures and buildings, taking into consideration both time-dependent processes and energy aspects. 

The experimental research on the level of materials and structures is performed by an experienced and well-trained team and in a state-of-the-art laboratory with national and international accreditations as a testing laboratory for fasteners and hardened concrete. 

In the area of fastening technology, research on the technical service life of engineering structures  under different load and environmental impacts has been conducted since 2014, per the Christian-Doppler-Laboratory Life-Cycle Robustness.

Leitbild


Institut für Konstruktiven Ingenieurbau

Institutsleiter:
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Alfred Strauss

Strategie und Leitbild des Instituts

Die Zukunft der Bautechnik liegt in innovativen Werkstoffen, neuen Baumethoden und leistungsorientierten Bemessungsmethoden unter Einbeziehung der komplexen Ansprüche aus Lebenszyklus- und Nachhaltigkeitsbetrachtungen. Eine wesentliche Rolle kommt der Bauwerksüberwachung von der Formung (Geburt)  eines Konstruktionselementes bis zu dessen Abbruch (Lebensende) unter Einsatz modernsten Sensorsysteme zu. Die so gewonnenen Erfahrungen finden direkt in die Optimierung von Inspektions- und Erhaltungsmaßnahmen aber auch indirekt in die Anpassung von Bemessungskonzepten Eingang. 

Die Welt ist nicht deterministisch. Jede geometrische Größe, Last und Annahme unterliegt Unsicherheiten, die es zu erfassen und zu bewerten gilt, um das vorhandene Sicherheitsniveau eines Ingenieurbauwerkes bewerten und die sichere Erreichung der geplanten Lebensdauer garantieren zu können. Mit integrierten Monitoringsystemen kann das zeitabhängige Verhalten von Brücken und Tunnels, von Kraftwerken und Schutzbauten wesentlich effizienter bestimmt und somit die Erhaltungszyklen auf den Betrieb abgestimmt werden. Resultat sind eine ressourcenschonende, kosteneffiziente Erhaltungspraxis mit minimalen Beinträchtigungen des Betriebs und der Funktionstüchtigkeit. 

Das Institut für konstruktiven Ingenieurbau verfolgt den Anspruch, den zukünftiger Ingenieuren eine fundierte und solide Ausbildung in den technischen und naturwissenschaftlichen Fachdisziplinen zu bieten, die als Fundament für die zukünftigen Herausforderungen der Praxis und Forschung dienen. Neben den Grundlagen der Mechanik, Werkstoffkunde und Bauwirtschaft kommt das Institut diesem Anspruch in drei Fachbereichen nach:

  • Befestigungstechnik
  • Strukturmechanik
  • Ressourcenorientiertes Bauen

Das zentrale Ziel dieser drei Fachbereiche ist die koordinierte Entwicklung von Nachhaltigkeits- und Lebenszykluskonzepten sowie von probabilistisch basierten Bewertungskonzepten in Hinblick auf die Lebensdauer von Befestigungselementen und Strukturen des Hoch- und Tiefbaus unter Einbeziehung zeitabhängiger Prozesse und energetischer Betrachtungen. 

Die Durchführung experimenteller Untersuchungen auf Material- und Strukturebene erfolgt durch ein erfahrenes und bestens ausgebildetes Team in einem modernstens ausgestatteten Versuchslabor, welches eine nationale und internationale Akkreditierung als Prüfstelle für Befestigungsmittel und Festbetonprüfung besitzt. 

Im Bereich der Befestigungstechnik werden Untersuchungen, die technische Lebensdauer unter unterschiedlichen Last- und Umwelteinwirkungen betreffend, seit 2014 durch das Christian-Doppler-Labor für Lebenszyklusrobustheit vorangetrieben.